Percy Pud 10km : 2002 Race Report
Sunday 1st December 2002

A Sheffield runner shared the winner’s podium with an England track star from the Manchester Commonwealth Games at the 10th New Balance Percy Pud 10km road race, organised by Steel City Striders.

City of Sheffield A.C. runner Andrew Kilding won the men’s race and international athlete Debbie Robinson won the women’s race.

With the main threat in the men’s race, international athlete John Mayock, in Ireland undergoing intensive treatment to an injury picked up in the days prior to the race, it was left to Kilding to take the men’s first prize in a time of 31 minutes 43 seconds.

Rotherham’s Richard Harris, leading for the first 5km, finished half a minute down in second place with a time of 31 minutes 43 seconds. Mark Ruddlestone also of Rotherham took the third prize in 32 minutes 18 seconds.

England athlete Debbie Robinson followed her 4th place in the Commonwealth Games marathon with victory here taking the women’s prize in a new course record time of 33 minutes 42 seconds, ranking her 8th in the U.K. this year.

“Despite the cold, wet and windy weather conspiring against good race times, I was very pleased with my performance which was just two seconds outside my best ever time for 10km,”said the Tipton Harriers athlete Robinson after the race.

Sheffield’s Penny Thackery, running for Wakefield Harriers, took second place in a time of 35 minutes 49 seconds.

Amongst the 1000 plus finishers were 5 premiership referees dressed appropriately in black. Phil Dowd (319th place) Uriah Rennie (426th place), Clive Wilkes (454th place) Andy Carnell (522nd place) and David Pugh (581st place) all finished in the top half of the race.

Sheffield Central M.P and Minister for Sport Richard Cabourn also finished the race - in a personal best time of 54 minutes 6 seconds.

“I have lost a stone in weight and 7 minutes in time since the Percy Pud 10km race this time last year, and I’m feeling healthier for it too!” commented Richard.

A capacity field of 1200 entered this year’s race leaving 500 unlucky having their entries returned before the race.